Year of the Girl

The Year of the Girl is an exciting project that provides an opportunity for citizens to nominate and celebrate the girls who make our community so special.  “The City of Tallahassee is thrilled to be a partner in the Year of the Girl initiative to highlight and honor outstanding young women in our community,” said Tallahassee Mayor Andrew Gillum. “These girls are already a driving force behind the dynamic growth of our city and I look forward to watching them take the reigns as leaders of tomorrow.”
“There are so many girls in our County doing great things,” said Leon County Commission Chairman Bill Proctor. “Leon County is proud to support women and girls in our community.  This initiative will help tell the stories of young women who will be our future leaders.”

Year of the Girl April Honoree: Samantha Ellrich


Year of the Girl March Honoree: Wren Cavano

YOTG Wren 2

Year of the Girl February Honoree: Imani Walker

YOTG Imani Walker Photo

Year of the Girl January Honoree: Paloma Rambana

YOTG _Paloma

Year of the Girl December Honoree: Alexis Campbell


Year of the Girl November Honoree: Ana Marie Wallace


Year of the Girl October Honoree: Fischer Sinclair Griffin


Year of the Girl September Honoree: Faith Thomas


Year of the Girl August Honoree: Haniah Edwards

Haniah Rose Edwards - August #YOTG


 Year of the Girl July Honoree: Katherine Sorrell


Year of the Girl June Honoree: Mia Owens!

Mia Owens


 Year of the Girl May Honoree:

Samantha Crawford


Year of the Girl April Honoree: Khalia Denise Hinson

Image: Kahlia Hinson (middle) with CSWG Members Paula DeBoles-Johnson (right) and Dr. Jeanne O'Kon (left)